Online Maine Databases
Read at the Library
Welcome to the Umberhine Public Library in Richmond, Maine!

dot_bl.gif (109 bytes) GENERAL INFORMATION
dot_bl.gif (109 bytes) RICHMOND LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
dot_bl.gif (109 bytes) ONLINE MAINE DATABASES
dot_bl.gif (109 bytes) RICHMOND TOWN LINKS
 
Send questions and comments to isaac@umberhine.lib.me.us

http://www.umberhine.lib.me.us/databases.htm
Last update: September 6, 2006

[Library Home Page]

The Maine State Library, the University of Maine System Libraries, and the Maine Technical College System Libraries provide access to these EBSCOhost magazine, newspaper, and eBook databases.

http://libraries.maine.edu/mainedatabases/

Access from the Umberhine Public Library's computers gives automatic entry. Access from a home computer is possible by filling out the form through the Remote Access link on the databases's page. 

When accessing the databases from home, you will need to fill out the remote access form each time because Internet Service Providers, ISPs, generally assign a new IP address each time you go online.

The links on the databases' start page lead to 3 pages:

* netLibrary leads to the eBooks;
* BIOSIS Preview, IT Knowledge and Zooligical Record share an access page;
* and the remaining links lead to EBSCOhost magazine databases.

  • EBSCOhost Web (Lists all the databases available. They include these and more: business magazines, general, health, and academic sources, an animal encyclopedia, and a general encyclopedia.)
  • Searchasaurus (This is a pictorial interface to 2 magazine databases for elementary and middle school readers, an animal encyclopedia, a general encyclopedia, a tutorial, and fun facts.)
  • Corporate ResourceNet (Web access for libraries that are paid subscribers.)